LabCampus Goes ExpoReal

LabCampus takes part as official exhibition partner at ExpoReal from 7th to 9th of October 2019. In the course of the new Intelligent Urbanization (IU) Forum (Hall C1) LabCampus presents its ideas and concepts regarding smart and intelligent ways of urbanization in exciting panel discussions and on its own booth .

Here are the four main topics LabCampus is focusing on:

- Future Economy: Standort Deutschland in the Digital Age

- Smart City: Confronting the Urbanization Challenge

- Work-Life Fusion: The Role of the Space Between

- Campus Culture: From Innovative Thinking to Innovative Doing

One of the key topics during ExpoReal is the attractiveness of "Standort Deutschland" in the digital age. Dr. Marc Wagener, Managing Director of LabCampus GmbH, shared his thoughts with us in a blog article.

“Standort Deutschland”: How Building a Smarter Community Can Raise the Profile of a Nation. 

Germany has the largest national economy in Europe. But recent figures reveal that „Made in Germany“ is losing appeal. “Standort Deutschland”—or the attractiveness of Germany as an economically strong location—is declining. Foreign direct investment is lower. And countries like the Netherlands, Switzerland and Sweden now all rank above Germany as the most innovative in the world.

Concerningly, a more closed culture appears to be taking root. Positive images of German and foreign fans celebrating the World Cup in 2006 are reminiscent of a significant time: One when not only Germany’s image became international—but the country’s outlook.

Economic success, innovation and internationalization are three elements of “Standort Deutschland” needing a revival. And “stadiums” all over Germany can play host.

Take Bavaria: Of the 400 world-market leading German companies, 101 of them come from this region. But there are many more that remain “unseen”. At a metropolitan level, Munich is an undisputed powerhouse. But it shows signs of friction like any other. The start-up culture could be more vibrant. And there’s an estimated skills shortage of over 100,000 workers. Even some of the well established companies are profiting from previous cycles of investment. And delaying defining their digital strategies.

Cultivating a new way of thinking - in smarter communities

Cities can rise to these challenges—using space strategically. They must be inviting, offer quality of life, be modern and digital and enable companies to stay competitive. This isn’t achieved through co-working models. It’s about building smarter communities—at scale. Spaces that act as a role models for other cities by cultivating a new way of thinking. Where international collaboration and clustering helps companies secure their market positions. Where companies are enabled to grow their innovative systems and culture, attract the foreign talent they need, and ensure the next generation of home-grown talent stays. Multiply the model, and this could truly shape an entire nation’s economic destiny.

LabCampus creates synergies between industries, technologies, creative spaces – and people

This is exactly what LabCampus—the new innovation cosmos being built at the site of Munich Airport—is taking the first step towards. On a site the size of 70 soccer fields, or 500,000m², it’s literally breaking new ground. Over the years to follow—fresh, smart ways of collaborating between businesses and across industries will start to redefine how and with what reach, successful innovation happens. It will offer the right mix of people, industries, trends, creative spaces, amenities, technologies, partners and services. The perfect conditions for innovation. And with excellent international connections on the site’s doorstep, including access to 150,000 international visitors daily, LabCampus puts “Destination Innovation” on the European map.

From a city administrator’s perspective, smart urbanization is about using data-driven intelligence to improve livability for residents. But for economists, we open that up to include helping cities to create the right environments where companies and people can grow. Yes—this will be a smart city concept—already being built with partner MIT Senseable City Lab. But it’s the smarter community within it that may be the key to the attractiveness of Germany as a whole.   

Author

Managing Director LabCampus


In April 2018 Dr. Marc Wagener joined LabCampus GmbH, the newly established subsidiary of Flughafen München GmbH (Munich Airport), with the mission of building, promoting and driving a future-oriented, cross-industry campus for innovators.

With a background of studies in electrical engineering at the Technical University in Aachen and a PHD in business from the Technical University of Chemnitz, Dr. Marc Wagener started his career in the field of IT project management and later moved to management consulting. In 2006 he joined Carl Zeiss AG where he was in charge of strategic business development. He served as Director Marketing, Business Strategy and Communications of Carl Zeiss Industrial Metrology from 2008 - 2013. Following that, Wagener became the CEO of Siemens Novel Businesses where he was responsible for identifying and developing disruptive business opportunities, creating and financing start-ups relevant to specific fields of the Siemens AG.

Panel: October 7th, 11-11.50 am


Moderator:

Wojciech Czaja, Journalist


Participants:

Kees Verschoor, City of Utrecht

Marc Wagener, LabCampus GmbH

Miquel Pybus Oliveras, Barcelona Regional

Gerd Krohn, Smartvillage GmbH

Jürgen Enninger , Landeshauptstadt München, Kompetenzteam Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft 

Panel: October 7th, 4-4.50 pm



Moderator:

Sarah Lorenz, German Entrepreneurship GmbH


Participants:

Sarah Wittlieb, LabCampus GmbH

Barbara Thiel, Kienbaum Consulting

Christos Chantzaras, TUM

Michael Ulmer, Querfeld.Design // Querfeld Netzwerkgesellschaft mbH & Co KG 

Presentation: October 8th, 4-4.50 pm



Presenter:

Rolf Klingenschmidt, FMG

Marc Wagener, LabCampus GmbH

LabCampus goes ExpoReal

LabCampus ist vom 07. - 09. Oktober 2019 erstmalig offizieller Austellungspartner der Messe München und präsentiert in Halle C1 im Rahmen des Intelligent Urbanization (IU) Forums in spannenden Paneldiskussionen und auf einem eigenen Stand neue Ideen zur intelligenten Stadtentwicklung.

Hier unsere vier Themenschwerpunkte:

- Standort Deutschland im Digitalen Zeitalter

- Smart City: Die Herausforderung der Urbanisierung meistern

- Fusion Beruf und Privatleben: Der Raum zwischen beiden Bereichen

- Campuskultur: Vom innovativen Denken zum innovativen Handeln

Eines der Kernthemen für LabCampus auf der ExpoReal ist die Attraktivität des Standortes Deutschland im digitalen Wandel. Dr. Marc Wagener, Geschäftsführer der LabCampus GmbH, teilt uns in einem Blogbeitrag seine Gedanken zu dem Thema mit.

Standort Deutschland: Wie der Aufbau smarter Communities das Profil eines Landes verbessern kann

Deutschland ist die größte Volkswirtschaft Europas. Aber jüngste Zahlen zeigen auf: "Made in Germany" verliert an Reiz. Der Standort Deutschland, sprich unsere Attraktivität als Wirtschaftsstandort, nutzt sein Potential nicht ausreichend aus. Die ausländischen Direktinvestitionen nehmen ab. Im Ranking der innovativsten Länder der Welt rangiert Deutschland mittlerweile hinter den Niederlanden, der Schweiz und Schweden.

Eine zunehmend verschlossene, in sich gekehrte Kultur scheint hierzulande um sich zu greifen. Dabei erinnern uns die Bilder von der Weltmeisterschaft 2006, als Fans aus Deutschland und der ganzen Welt gemeinsam feierten, an einen außergewöhnlichen Moment: Nicht nur das Image Deutschlands hatte sich internationalisiert, sondern auch der Blickwinkel unseres Landes.

Drei Kernelemente des Standorts Deutschland haben nunmehr eine Revitalisierung nötig: Wirtschaftlicher Erfolg, Innovation und die Internationalisierung.

Beispiel Bayern: Von den 400 deutschen Weltmarktführern kommen 101 aus dem Freistaat. Und es gibt viele Unternehmen, die "unter dem Radar fliegen“. Unter den Metropolen gilt München unbestritten als international führend, für unser Lebensgefühl, für die vielen tollen Unternehmen, die hier ansässig sind. Aber die Rahmenbedingungen werden schwieriger– wie bei jeder anderen Metropole auch. Die Gründerkultur könnte lebendiger sein. Der Fachkräftemangel wird auf über 100.000 Mitarbeiter geschätzt. Selbst einige der fest etablierten Unternehmen zehren von zurückliegenden Investitionszyklen und Erfolgen – und schieben Entscheidungen und Investitionen für die digitale Zukunft hinaus.

Städte können sich diesen Herausforderungen stellen - indem sie Räume strategisch nutzen. Sie müssen einladend sein. Lebensqualität bieten. Sich modern und digital aufstellen und Unternehmen unterstützen, dass sie wettbewerbsfähig bleiben. Co-Working-Konzepte reichen dafür nicht aus. Es geht darum, smarte Communities aufzubauen - und zwar im großen Stil. Räume, die ein neues Denken kultivieren. Wo internationale Vernetzung und Zusammenarbeit den Unternehmen helfen, ihre Marktpositionen zu sichern. Wo Unternehmen in die Lage versetzt werden, ihr Innovationssystem und ihre Innovationskultur voranzutreiben, Talente aus dem Ausland anzulocken und den heimischen Nachwuchs zu halten. Aber könnten solche Räume tatsächlich, als Vorlage für andere Städte umgesetzt und multipliziert, das wirtschaftliche Schicksal eines Landes positiv beeinflussen?

Genau in diese Richtung setzt LabCampus den ersten Schritt. Auf einer Fläche von 70 Fußballfeldern, oder 500.000 m², entsteht am Flughafen München ein Innovationskosmos, der Unternehmen buchstäblich neue Wege ebnet, zukünftig erfolgreich Innovationen zu schaffen und am Markt zu implementieren. Den Kern bildet eine frische, intelligente Art branchen- und disziplinübergreifender Kollaboration. Mit dem richtigen Mix aus Menschen und Branchen, Trends und Technologien, aus Kreativräumen und Relax-Zonen, Partnern und Dienstleistungen. Das perfekte Umfeld für Innovation samt exzellenter internationalen Verbindungen direkt vor der Tür – darunter der Zugang zu 150.000 internationalen Besuchern täglich. Nicht nur dadurch setzt LabCampus "Destination Innovation" auf die europäische Landkarte.

LabCampus erweitert den Ansatz der Intelligent Urbanization im Sinne der Wirtschaftstreibenden: Nach dem Konzept einer modernen Smart City helfen wir das richtige Umfeld zu schaffen, in dem Unternehmen und Menschen gleichermaßen (über sich hinaus) wachsen können und durch Innovationen den Wirtschaftsstandort Deutschland zu neuer Zugkraft zu verhelfen. Den eigentlichen Schlüssel zu Deutschlands Anziehungskraft bildet jedoch aber die smarte Community, die in der Smart City agiert.

Autor

Dr. Marc Wagener, Managing Director LabCampus


Seit 01. April 2018 leitet Dr. Marc Wagener die LabCampus GmbH. Für seine neue Aufgabe als Geschäftsführer der LabCampus GmbH kann er auf interdisziplinäre und breit gefächerte berufliche Erfahrungen zurückgreifen. Zuvor baute er bei Siemens den Bereich Novel Business auf und war u.a. bei Carl Zeiss Industrielle Messtechnik für den Bereich Marketing, Strategie und Kommunikation verantwortlich. Zu Beginn seiner Karriere war er neun Jahre in der Unternehmensberatung tätig. Dr. Marc Wagener ist studierter Diplomingenieur für Elektro- und Nachrichtentechnik und promovierter Wirtschaftswissenschaftler.

Panel: 07.10.2019, 11:00-11:50 Uhr




Moderator:

Wojciech Czaja, Journalist


Teilnehmer:

Kees Verschoor, City of Utrecht

Marc Wagener, LabCampus GmbH

Miquel Pybus Oliveras, Barcelona Regional

Gerd Krohn, Smartvillage GmbH

Jürgen Enninger , Landeshauptstadt München, Kompetenzteam Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft 

Panel: 07.10.2019, 16:00-16:50 Uhr




Moderator:

Sarah Lorenz, German Entrepreneurship GmbH


Teilnehmer:

Sarah Wittlieb, LabCampus GmbH

Barbara Thiel, Kienbaum Consulting

Christos Chantzaras, TUM

Michael Ulmer, Querfeld.Design // Querfeld Netzwerkgesellschaft mbH & Co KG 

Präsentation: 08.10.2019, 16:00-16:50 Uhr


Teilnehmer:

Rolf Klingenschmidt, FMG

Marc Wagener, LabCampus GmbH